Governor Gianforte Requests Presidential Major Disaster Declaration

Governor Greg Gianforte today requested President Joe Biden issue a presidential major disaster declaration due to flooding in Montana that occurred in May.

The governor's request is for the counties of Blaine, Chouteau, Fergus, Hill, Judith Basin, Petroleum, Pondera, Teton, Toole, and Wheatland along with the Rocky Boy and Fort Belknap Reservations.

"In early May, a strong slow-moving low-pressure system moved into the Great Basin," Gov. Gianforte wrote in a letter to Pres. Biden. "This system intensified tapping into a layer of Pacific moisture. During this period the storm moved slowly over...


Reader Comments(0)