Roundup Record Tribune & Winnett Times -

USDA Designates Eight Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas


This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of

1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area:


Triggering Disaster:


Application Deadline:

March 14, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Carbon, Madison, Stillwater, Treasure, Gallatin, Park, Sweet Grass, Yellowstone

Contiguous Counties Also

Eligible: Montana:

Beaverhead, Broadwater, Jefferson, Musselshell, Silver Bow

Big Horn, Golden Valley, Meagher, Rosebud, Wheatland

More Resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023