Montana Dept. of Revenue: Business Owners Must Report Equipment by March 1
January 20, 2021
HELENA – It’s time for businesses to report the equipment they own to the Montana Department of Revenue. Owners can report online using the department’s TransAction Portal (TAP) at https://tap.dor.mt.gov.
The reporting deadline is March 1, 2021, to avoid a 20 percent penalty. All businesses must report the equipment they owned as of Jan. 1, 2021, if the market value of their business equipment is more than $100,000 statewide. Owners must file the report even if there were no changes to their business equipment or if they closed or sold their business.
Those businesses whose statewide...