Roundup Record Tribune & Winnett Times -

Montana State's President to Serve as Chair of Association of Public and Land-grant Universities


November 18, 2020

From MSU News Service and APLU

The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities this week announced its 2021 board of directors. At a ceremony during the association’s 133rd annual meeting, Montana State University President Waded Cruzado became chair of the board, taking over for University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Chancellor Robert Jones.

The board of directors provides oversight and direction for the APLU’s work and is charged with setting membership and governing policies for the association. Board members work to make public institutions of higher education more effective in delivering quality and affordable higher education while advancing cutting-edge research and robust community and economic engagement.

“Waded Cruzado is a pathbreaking leader who has dedicated her life to advancing the public service mission of public research universities,” said APLU President Peter McPherson. “We’re thrilled she’s been selected as the next chair of the APLU board of directors. The board of directors plays an essential role in shaping the APLU’s work to advance the education, research and engagement missions of public higher education. We’re excited to have her leadership as chair.”

The APLU is a research, policy and advocacy organization dedicated to strengthening and advancing the work of public universities in the U.S., Canada and Mexico. With a membership of 246 public research universities, land-grant institutions, state university systems and affiliated organizations, the APLU's agenda is built on the three pillars of increasing degree completion and academic success, advancing scientific research, and expanding engagement.

Annually, member campuses enroll 5 million undergraduates and 1.3 million graduate students, award 1.3 million degrees, employ 1.3 million faculty and staff, and conduct $49.3 billion in university-based research.

Below is the membership for the 2021 APLU board of directors and their positions on the board:

• Waded Cruzado, president, Montana State University, chair.

• Rebecca Blank, chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Madison, chair-elect.

• Robert Jones, chancellor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, past-chair.

• Gary May, chancellor, University of California, Davis, chair of the Council of Presidents.

• Kent Fuchs, president, University of Florida, secretary of the Council of Presidents.

• Mun Choi, president, University of Missouri System, board member-at-large.

• Susan Cole, president, Montclair State University, board member-at-large.

• Joan Ferrini-Mundy, president, University of Maine, board member-at-large.

• Martin Meehan, president, University of Massachusetts System, board member-at-large.

• Robert Nelsen, president, California State University, Sacramento, board member-at-large.

• Santa Ono, president and Vice-Chancellor, University of British Columbia, board member-at-large.

• Samuel Stanley, president, Michigan State University, board member-at-large.

• Makola Abdullah, president, Virginia State University, Council of 1890s Universities representative.

• Alex Krigstein, deputy director of federal government relations, University of Florida, Council on Governmental Affairs representative.

• Dana Topousis, chief marketing and communications officer, University of California, Davis, Council on Strategic Communications representative.

• Eleni Assanis, University of Delaware, Council of Presidents’ and Chancellors’ Spouses representative.

• Denise Maybank, vice chancellor for student affairs and enrollment management, The City University of New York, Council on Student Affairs representative.

• Christopher Keane, vice president for research, Washington State University, Council on Research representative.

• Havidán Rodríguez, president, University at Albany, Commission on Access, Diversity, and Excellence representative.

• Noelle Cockett, president, Utah State University, Commission on Food, Environment, and Renewable Resources representative.

• Patrick Gallagher, chancellor, University of Pittsburgh, Commission on Economic and Community Engagement representative.

• Chad Wootton, associate vice president for external affairs, Texas A&M University, Commission on Economic and Community Engagement representative.

• Taylor Eighmy, president, University of Texas at San Antonio, Commission on International Initiatives representative.

• Michael Rao, president, Virginia Commonwealth University, Coalition of Urban Serving Universities Representative.

• Rita Cheng, president, Northern Arizona University, Commission on Information, Measurement and Analysis Representative.

• Jonathan Pruitt, chief operating officer, University of North Carolina System, Commission on Information, Measurement and Analysis representative.

• Tom Coon, vice president, dean and director of the Oklahoma State University Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Board on Agriculture Policy representative.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 11/23/2020 14:51